Best Find in 2012 (My Best Ever)- Massachusetts-1652-Silver Oak Tree 3 Pence NOE 24

nhzwickey

Tenderfoot
Jan 18, 2013
New England-New Hampshire
Detector(s) used
E-Trac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all,

Here are a couple of pictures of my recent 2012 find , awesome for me, in New Hampshire. It is a Massachusetts Silver Oak Tree 3 Pence NOE 24. I'm very new to Metal Detecting so this is a great, very humbling find, for me.

3 Pence NOE24 picture one.jpg 3 Pence NOE24 picture Two.jpg

Sydney P Noe, is the "Noe" I reference in NOE-24. He was the Numismatologist that studied these types of coins and wrote about them: "Sydney P. Noe was born on April 4, 1885 in Woodbridge, New Jersey. He graduated from Rutgers University, where he received his master's degree, in 1913. Two years later, in 1915, he joined the ANS as Librarian, where he reorganized the library's collection and created its photofile. Noe remained librarian until 1938, when he succeeded Howland Wood as Curator. Noe also served as Secretary for the ANS from 1917 until 1947, when he was named Chief Curator — the first person to hold that position. Upon his retirement in 1953, Noe was named Chief Curator Emeritus. " From the American Numismatic Society-ANS

American Numismatic Society | Archives / Noebio

American Numismatic Society | Archives / Publication History

This is some information on his publications of the Various Tree Coinages of Massachusetts:

Noe, Sydney P. 1943: The New England and willow tree coinages of Massachusetts. Numismatic Notes and Monographs, no. 102. New York: American Numismatic Society.
Noe, Sydney P. 1947: The oak tree coinages of Massachusetts. Numismatic Notes and Monographs, no. 110. New York: American Numismatic Society.
Noe, Sydney Philip. 1952: The pine tree coinage of Massachusetts. Numismatic Notes and Monographs, no. 125. New York: American Numismatic Society