Clues for cache hunting

gflores71

Nov 26, 2005
Central Coast, CA / Bolivia
Detector(s) used
White's V3, MXT All Pro, DFX, XLPro,TM-808, TDI-SL with 25" coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
hello everyone, my name is Gilbert and I am new to this forum, I have been using metal detectors for the past 15 yrs, my passion is cache hunting, all of which I do in south america. I have not had enough time lately to do but only a little hunting since I am finishing my surgery training here in TN, but come July 06 I will head back down to do some serious searching.

I have not reviewed all the threads, but here are my two cents:

caches acumulate gas with time, wich is released during dry season when the ground has cracks in it, if this is out in the open , you will see a light blueish in the middle with white in the outside, this is the way that natives in South america find them, they stay up in august (winter) and wait at night where they suspect or someone has reported seeing before, this is also timed with the moon cycle as it affects this in a similar way as waves in the ocean.

old caches were hidden many times under or around brick ovens, or in old kitchen rooms, since the previous generations were aware that they will let off gas (that oxidizes with oxygen to give off light) so that if any one happened to see it they would think someone was cooking or baking.

if a cache is near a rock or under a large rock, with time it will mark the rock, similar to the mark left behing by a candle if you let it burn agains a solid surface, the middle is light blue and outside black, and cannot be scratched off,(caused by gases that escape periodically) if you ever get to see that you will not forget it and will not need to turn on your detector if you ever encounter this again, at that point all you will need is digging equipment.