Coin Shooter looking to try nugget hunting for 1st time

adobisky

Nov 24, 2009
Hi Guys,

I am new to this web site - relatively new to SoCal and have never tried Nugget hunting!

I moved to Murrieta, Ca from the east coast about 6 years ago. Back east I used to to a lot of coin shooting and relic hunting.

Now that I live out here - I want to try nugget hunting.

I have a whites DFX Spectrum - I know its not ideal for gold but I can't afford a new detector. At least not until I find $4500 worth of nuggets ;)

Any ideas of places to go that aren't too far from Murrieta or too far off the beaten path? I am about to have both knees replaced so I dont want to do a lot of hiking to get to the hunting grounds.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Andy

Upvote 0

atomicscott

Bronze Member
Aug 18, 2011
Riverside CA
Detector(s) used
Current: Nokta Makro Simplex+, Teknetics Patriot, Fisher Gold Bug (original), GP Pinpointer (Garrett Clone) Lesche. Owned: Omega 8000, Minelab X-Terra 505, Fisher F2, Tesoro Vaquero, & Compadre, Whit
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Guys,

I am new to this web site - relatively new to SoCal and have never tried Nugget hunting!

I moved to Murrieta, Ca from the east coast about 6 years ago. Back east I used to to a lot of coin shooting and relic hunting.

I have a whites DFX Spectrum - I know its not ideal for gold but I can't afford a new detector. At least not until I find $4500 worth of nuggets ;)

Any ideas of places to go that aren't too far from Murrieta or too far off the beaten path? I am about to have both knees replaced so I dont want to do a lot of hiking to get to the hunting grounds.

Thanks,

Andy
Hey Andy,