CTX 3030 Screw Cap Question

WisconsinPirate

Aug 2, 2017
Racine, Wi
Detector(s) used
EQ600; Makro MK
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi! I am a bit new to the CTX and had a question about the VDI/Sound/Visual for screw caps. I went to a park today. I was trying to dig bad/good (iffy) signals today because I have not had any luck finding anything silver and I thought this might be a way to find things other detectors could not distinguish. The park is one of the older ones in town, but I think the park has been hit many times since forever. So I was trying this to see if I could pull anything out of the ground. Well I did not. I only found screw caps and pull tabs. I dug about 20 malt liquor screw caps, and modern pull tabs.

I get the pull tab thing but I did not think screw caps rung exactly the same as quarters. Is this what other people get?

I was running FE CO, coin mode, basically factory settings. The VDI/Sound/Visual were the same for the screw caps as for quarters: high bell tone, 12-45, and a tight red ball on the screen. After about 10 of these I was trying to figure out a "tell" and I could not. Any advice or is this like pull tabs
meaning tough luck there is no tell dig them all. Thanks in advance.

20171110_145858.jpg

ChampFerguson/TN

Bronze Member
Nov 22, 2013
TN
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari .......... Minelab Excalibur II ....... ........Minelab CTX 3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Screw caps are tough for me too, but part of the answer is in your post;
"I was trying to dig bad/good (iffy) signals..."

Its hard to describe, but coins just sound more 'solid' than screw caps to me. Maybe "crisp tone" is a better description of the good sound. An iffy signal in the quarter range is almost always junk in my heavily hunted parks ime. Sure, it could possibly be junk interfering with a good signal, but Target Trace seems to do a very good job of showing when multiple targets are present.