Greenie
May 16, 2020
Maine
Detector(s) used
Whites Prizm III, Garrett Ace 200
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm curious how many of you seasoned detectorists
handle the situation that happens when you find something special on a property where you have permission to detect.

I'm fairly new to detecting, and have spent most of my time on the property of a close friend who doesn't care if we keep the relics/items we uncover.

I'm trying to be brave now and ask for permission at other places ( I am shy and I find this part horrifying). I am not sure how to tactfully ask if I can keep items found. I did draft up a letter because it seems so much easier and I just sort of left that part out. I just don't want to end up in an even more uncomfortable situation if I were to find something wonderful and had never addressed it with the property owner.

Do you clarify beforehand what the plan will be if you find something? Do you just get permission and gloss over it?
My guess is that you are all much more bold than me, and you just tell the owner that you are going keep the treasure!

Thanks, I appreciate any and all advice. I learn so much from this treasurenet crew!

GoDeep

Bronze Member
Nov 12, 2016
Detector(s) used
Whites, Garrett, Minelab
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If a tree falls in the woods and no one is there to hear it, did it make any sound?

Or, if you find an old valuable coin in his yard and no one sees it but you, does it exist?

Yes, to both, but the point is, no hurt feelings if you just keep it quiet and the agreement was that you could keep anything you find.

MidMoTreasure

Jul 2, 2012
Mid-Missouri
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030, Minelab E-Trac, Garrett Super Sluice, Banjo Pan
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting