need manual for Micronta "Discovery 2"

Nov 15, 2006
Harrisburg, PA
Detector(s) used
Micronta Discovery 2
need manual for Micronta "Discovery 2"

Hey everyone,

I want to start off by saying thanks to whoever is responsible for the creation and maintenance of this site, and to everyone who has posted relevant and useful information. I have spent 12 hours straight combing through the forums in an effort to try and educate myself as much as I can before I begin to participate myself. I am very new to prospecting and metal detecting, but I have learned a great deal from this site already in just the short time I've been here. So thanks, everyone...

Now I know a lot of you are probably laughing about this metal detector I am using, I believe Radio Shack sold them... The Micronta Discovery 2... But I can't afford one and I've always wanted to try one, and finally, someone my family knew not only had one, but they were kind enough to let me use it, indefinitely.

I am lucky to live on a 112 acre parcel farm that was definitely active during the civil war and underground railroad... The house is on an old stone foundation with log, it's well over 100 years old. There is an even older stone foundation on the property which will be one of my first targets, an old spring with a man made cap on it, and probably a few other old foundations around as this area, and the property occupies nearly a mile along the Conewago Creek (which feeds the Susquehanna River near Harrisburg, PA).

I have also found one of those indian looking thong trees, and a very strange "standing stone" - too large for anyone to move without some kind of engineering feat, and it's precariously placed on a small foundation of smaller rocks... I've also found what looks like an entrance to a cave, but I don't know about trying to dig that out since the rock coming out of the ground above the loose dirt is the size of a conversion van... So I am quite eager to begin looking around...