Newbie Question About Gold Ore

SDBanks

Jul 14, 2020
San Diego
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, this is my first post! I recently got bit by the gold bug, and now all my hikes are about locating different rocks types, thinking about the geology and taking samples. Although I'm new to gold prospecting, I'm an avid hiker and know the back-country areas here in San Diego pretty well; so when I saw the types of rocks I'm supposed to look for I knew the places to go to from my hikes.

Obviously I'm not in mother-lode country but we still have gold down here, and from what I've read from old claims and USGS reports most of it is in quartz veins within a host rock like quartzmonzonite or monzogranite.

I've only been trying this hobby for 4 or 5 weeks or so now, but I think I might have some gold ore based on images I saw online labeled as gold ore. That's where I'm hoping to get some insight from the more experienced folk on this site.

A week ago I went to an old INACTIVE gold lode claim and took about a half dozen samples to take home and pan out. No luck in the pan, just a ton of pyrite. One of my finds during prospecting was a large eroding quartz vein that appears brecciated with quartz crystals, and black (sulfurs?) and chalcopyrite. Can gold ore be crumbly?

In my free time I read about gold mining and I start seeing brecciated quartz rock with orange "stains"(?) coloring images online labeled as "gold ore".

Examples:
1. https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/p...6zUyB2tT8IHWu2vQCXvUlclEo_fdRZwI-TA7bBKLt8oAz

2. https://raregoldnuggets.com/wp-content/uploads/DM297160-Copy.jpg

The samples I have look nearly identical to #1, including color. Am I on to something? Does the orange nacho-cheese-like colors of the specimen mean anything other than iron staining?