NEWBIE STARTER KIT (TELL ME WHATS IN IT!) :help:

kblackphoto

Nov 17, 2009
New Zealand
Detector(s) used
nokta makro pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Ok- I have looked around all over the web- checked out metal detectors- etc. But I need the basics to a good hunt. I don't know much about the tools you need for digging etc- So it would be awesome if the veterans to this sport can lay it all out on the line for me. Verbatim, I suppose. Here is a few questions I have for the willing- :help:

If you were to make a "Thrifty Treasure Hunting Starter Kit" what items would this include?

Can you buy these items at a store like Home Depot or are they specialty items?

Are there certain items you can't live without?

What items should I avoid?

If there is anything else you want to add please do!!

I'm a needy newbie! ;D

cntrydncr1

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2007
Bradenton, Fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Minelab Excal II, ETrac, Infiniuim
Garrett ACE 250 and a good digger. I got the ACE online...digger from Home Depot for $10. Those are the necessities!

After that you will want a good pinpointer so you can locate your finds more easily and quickly. The Garrett propinpointer is fantastic too!

I also do not hunt without kneepads, gloves and earphones and a pouch to keep everything in.

welcome to this fantastic hobby!

ivan salis

Gold Member
Feb 5, 2007
callahan,fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
delta 4000 / ace 250 - used BH and many others too