Noob checking in!!!....

Azman-1

Oct 4, 2006
Hello all,
I am brand new to treasue hunting, I have a used Tesoro toltec 100 that I picked up for about 70.00 (I don't know if that was a good price or not)

In fact I'm finding out there is a whole lot that I don't know!! I live out in Arizona (Yuma) and am looking forward to trying my hand at T Hunting this winter as summer is not good for me, too darn hott!!!
As I said, I am new to the hobby and have many questions, first of which is my detector working properly? Let me explain.

Here is where I get confused, as I swing the coil above the ground I will occasionally get a signal, however when I stop swinging, I lose the signal, which makes 'locating' or pinpointing difficult, is my detector not working right? or am I just not 'getting it'??? I have no manual to consult, and am in the process of trying to locate one.

If someone could answer this for me, I might be able to do a little 'hunting' while I wait for it!! As it is the only thing I've been able to find so far is a 1 ounce lead fishing sinker, and I had to dig a huge hole to find it!!! Needless to say that was not very encouraging, I'm sure I'm either doing something wrong or the detector is not working as it should.

I'm sorry my first post is so long, and I'm sorry I don't have any cool 'finds' to show you all yet, but please let me close by saying it was this great web site and all the pictures of finds that has made me want to even try.

Thank you, and continued luck to all, Azman-1... ;D

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome! Not familiar with that kind of detector, but the coil has to be in motion to get a beep, unless you are in the pinpoint mode. In pinpoint you should get a solid tone right over the target. When you hear the tone loudest is where to dig. Monty

ernie

Jun 11, 2004