Tracker IV beeps continously

chris_m

Jun 3, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi

I’m brand new to metal detecting and this forum. I recently got a lightly used Tracker 4 for my son (and myself) to start out.

We’ve used it successfully to dig up tons of nails from the garden, but now it just started beeping and going crazy on us, as if by interference. But nothing has changed. I changed the batteries but same thing. My son is suspecting he may have damaged it as he dipped the coil in the sea but it’s supposed to be waterproof right?

If I disconnect the coil it stops beeping. So it has something to do with the coil I guess.

Chris

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
being that the machine is slightly used you might have a crack in the coil housing. I recommend you inspect it and also leave it out in the sun for a few days and then try it.

OP
OP
C

chris_m

Jun 3, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the tip, I'll have a look at it tomorrow. If that's the case, are you saying there might be water inside? I suppose it will be ruined (by salt water) then? Should I get a new coil?

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
give it a chance to dry out and find the crack or hole in the coil housing and repair it.

OP
OP
C

chris_m

Jun 3, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey, thanks for checking in. No problem is not yet solved.