Upgrade for $200?

Deadshort

Aug 20, 2020
Mo
Detector(s) used
Tracker IV, Compadre, Vanquish 440, Simplex
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been using a Tracker IV for many years now and have to say that I'm thoroughly impressed with it. I originally intended to use it until I could afford a better one,...but it just worked so well that I just kept using it. I also bought a Compadre some time ago...it's a decent beeper but it's ultra simple interface doesn't really do it for me.

So can I get a truly better detector for $200 or less?

The Fisher F22 for example.

Any input much appreciated!

67GTA

Dec 3, 2017
Franklin, KY
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800 XP Deus 2 Vanquish 540
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Never used Fisher F22, so I can't speak for it. The only decent detectors I've used around that price recently are the Minelab Vanquish 340 ($199) and the Nokta Simplex ($254). Either of them would be a major upgrade for you.

Slingshot

Bronze Member
Apr 3, 2004
Southern Appalachia
Detector(s) used
Whites CM2 BFO, Harbor Freight 9 function, BH Pioneer 202, Fisher F22
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I got a F22 last week, and am favorably impressed, especially by the fact that it runs on 2 AA batteries. but the lowest price I could find was $219 shipped. Price is always a consideration.

OP
OP
D

Deadshort

Aug 20, 2020
Mo
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What was it about the F22 that apealed to you? I'm trying to decide between the F22 and Vanquish 340.

67GTA

Dec 3, 2017
Franklin, KY
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
What kind of hunting do you do?

OP
OP
D

Deadshort

Aug 20, 2020
Mo
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yards and parks, but I'm trying to find sights where I can relic hunt. For example, I've found a few sections of road or trail that existed in the 1800s but fell out of use (off the maps) in the early 1900s. My daughter and I are going to check it out on Tuesday.