Newly moved AZ

newbee1234

Greenie
Jun 4, 2013
Hoping for some pointers... Haven't gone "hunting" for rocks & such, except my own back yard. Can't find anything on google that answers me simply. (plus I'm technologically impaired) Anyone have any suggestions on WHERE I should be looking? Or "NO-NO's" on what NOT to do/take when picking up rocks?
I'm a big newbie on any of this hunting for rocks/gems/minerals. But it's always fascinated me. I've been able to identify some mixed quarts & an amethyst. (I think) even found a magnetic stone. (earth stone, not meteorite...I think)
Miles & miles to go before I learn... Any suggestions welcome. :)

Jan 2, 2013
somewhere between flagstaff, preskit
Detector(s) used
Whites prism III
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
OP
OP
newbee1234

newbee1234

Greenie
Jun 4, 2013
Also, I'm on the west size of Phoenix. Not really currently able for very far drives. :(
But suggestions & details very WELCOME just the same. :)

onfire

Silver Member
Nov 30, 2004
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
250 2500
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hoping for some pointers... Haven't gone "hunting" for rocks & such, except my own back yard. Can't find anything on google that answers me simply. (plus I'm technologically impaired) Anyone have any suggestions on WHERE I should be looking? Or "NO-NO's" on what NOT to do/take when picking up rocks?
I'm a big newbie on any of this hunting for rocks/gems/minerals. But it's always fascinated me. I've been able to identify some mixed quarts & an amethyst. (I think) even found a magnetic stone. (earth stone, not meteorite...I think)
Miles & miles to go before I learn... Any suggestions welcome. :)

Welcome newbi If I was you I'd join (For example) Roadrunners club out in Mesa area. Great bunch there. Little pricey compared to gp but have a lot of areas in your vicinity to prospect. Many helpful people in Arz.

OP
OP
newbee1234

newbee1234

Greenie
Jun 4, 2013