Waterproofing???

tb

Mar 24, 2005
gryhound,

I'm fairly new to this, so I'm sure others might have better advice, but if it's downpouring or there's a lot of wind off the ocean=salt spray I take a plastic grocery bag and wrap around the electronics box. I'll hunt the wet sand occasionally getting my coil wet, any further out with a land machine and you'd be taking a pretty big risk.

good luck hunting,

tb

greggww

Greenie
Aug 14, 2005
Richardson Tx.
I have tried waterproofing a Soverign twice, (I did want it waterproof to wade with), the first time I ended up scraping the machine before I ever got the project to the point of getting it into the water. The second time I got everything assembled into a pelican box, tested it in the bathtub, which did Ok but when I took it out wading it did start to take in water after about 45 minutes. I haven't given up on it but it is a difficult project and the price of a mistake can be high. I used Garrett headphones and connector from a Infinium, took off the coil connector put it through a waterproof passthrough, and only mounted two controls on the outside of the box, a on/off toggle and a disc/pinpoint switch. I still want my poor mans Excalibar w/ a notch but ia am still a ways from making it a reality. Good Luck Gregg

Statenisland Keith

Nov 7, 2004
GSI WAter proof box. drill two holes that match up with the soverign elite . 1 for the head phones and one for the control box. I used plumbers putty to seal the holes up. I cut up a chammy and put it next to the holes on the inside just incase it leaked but it never did. It works I would not go underwater with it but it is definitly dunk proof and temporary. You can dis- assemble it and your back to the original unit.

http://www.globe-mart.com/page/7/73512.htm
Keith

wreckdiver1715

Bronze Member
May 20, 2004
Satellite Beach
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal 1000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting