First experience in the surf and let me tell you

richg

Jun 15, 2004
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
minelab products
It was a total clusterf***!!! I was using a long handle scoop in water about 4 feet, I was picking up the targets with the detector then retrieving the target seemed just about impossible. Everytime I put my foot down to position the scoop a wave would wipe me out. I had one bust on me and it took the pads off the earphones. I did manage to pull out one earring then I could not do it any more, my long handle scoop was alll over the place while I was trying to detect. This is my first time using the sea hunter mark 2. I am used to the gti-1500 where I can pinpoint and dig the target, I guess that spoiled me somewhat. I did manage to pull out about $4 in clad in water a little higher than my ankles. I guess it takes alot of practice to get this technique down. Needless to say I am addicted to this hobby so on my next trip to the beach of course I will have to try it again. For now I guess I will have to stick to the dry land and wet sand areas until I could figure this out. Anyway HH!!

Upvote 0

flagold

Aug 3, 2004
Welcome to the water!!!!

Sounds like the first time I tried it in the Atlantic off Hutchinson Island, Fl -- was tangled, tripping, falling, and generally making such a spectacle of myself the crew of the Pandeon were watching me with binoculars and I could hear them laughing over the surf, 100 yards away.? From then on I always stick to the kiddie pool with the scoop (lakes) or use my Sea Hunter with SCUBA.

One of those things . . .

Matt Mattson
http://www.treasuresites.com
Image147.gif

OP
OP
R

richg

Jun 15, 2004
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
minelab products