Newbie to beach need tips :)

dobbie

Jan 5, 2009
Hi everyone. Im a newbie to beach detecting but not to metal detecting in general ;D . I was wondering if you all had any tips / tricks that could help me out a little. the beaches i will be hunting are very big so i wouldnt even know where to start. They r all southern cali beaches so they get ALOT of visitors all year round. Any info would be a great help.. I am using a whites XLT .

Upvote 0

DaChief

Bronze Member
Sep 16, 2007
Middle Tennessee
Detector(s) used
-------(Water)------- Garrett Infinium (Relic and Coin) Minelab Sov. Elite
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sandman put this link on a similar request a couple of months ago.

Start here and read. You can get years of experience in about a day or two of reading. This guy was one of the best and admired by many.

http://www.nmhra.netfirms.com/pulltab/

Good Luck.

DaChief

koolmac68

Greenie
May 25, 2009
south jersey
Detector(s) used
whites DFX 300
That link is a great site, Chief. I clicked and spent about an hour just reading through all his stuff. I live in New Jersey (close to the shore) and this info on beaches is invaluable. Thanks.

47thelement

Bronze Member
Jan 8, 2009
Detector(s) used
E-trac, Excal, ACE 250 for my son
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My wife printed every page from that site and placed it in a 3-ring binder. She added extra paper for notes and sheet protectors so I can slip in photos of my finds. She then gave it to me as a Christmas present and told me to build a cabinet to put the book in along with all my metal detecting equipment.

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Piercesdad said: