Bobbypins

May 31, 2008
Okinawa, Japan
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whatever gets the job done
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
I'm relatively new to beach hunting and only turned my attention towards it when my company offered me a job in Okinawa for a couple of years. I've been detecting these beaches only a few months now and have come to the conclusion that I prefer this over hunting on land.

I found a friend on the island who also detects, and we get out about every week or so to try our luck. This last Saturday night proved to be my best trip to date. We met up around 8pm and had plans to hit 3 beaches.

The first beach didn't turn out that well at all. A dozen pulltabs, can slaw, and a couple hundred yen is all I managed to get. I hope this wasn't going to set the tone for the rest of the night. Luckily, the Gods were about to smile upon me.

We walked down to the next beach and got to the swimming area and started hunting immediately. My buddy started swinging his way to the opposite end of the beach and I hit the wet sand with the Infinium. Within minutes, the yen started to come out of the ground. Working my way down the stretch of beach I get one of those good LOUD shallow targets.

I move the coil to kick at the sand and I see the glimmer of a silver coin edge winking at me. As I reach down to pick it up, I notice that it wasn't the 100 yen coin I was expecting. That "coin" turned out to be a silver ring. But I immediately noticed that the weight didn't feel right. This was a small ring, but the density was overwhelming for such a small piece... unlike a typical silver ring of comparable size.

I rubbed the sand off and looked for a marking, and faintly could read something with the red light coming from my headlamp. I switch the light to put off a white beam, and it was at that point I realized what I had. I could clearly read Pt900. WOW.