Questions

DeadEye Ice

Jul 19, 2010
OK I'm relatively new to detecting and have done a little inland and a little on the dry sand at the beach. I have a few questions.

1.) Is the wet sand / surf less / as / more productive than the dry sand area of the beach?

2.) Good / bad of dual freq vs PI machines?

Also I am a certified scuba diver and may in the future want to use a detector to dive with.

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Beaches can be as different as people even during the seasons or time of day. http://web.archive.org/web/20080202045558/http://thegoldenolde.com/
As for the detector a muilty freq like the Excal or CZ-20/21 fits the bill and I have used them diving. The White's Beach Hunter is not an equal as they're coils float like a cork and get tiring to control in the surf or and have a dive limit. Some swear by the use of a PI but they have no disc to speak of so you could dig deep holes for for hairpins and waste time you could have used with another detectors.

Last edited:

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sandman is spot on.... If you have a very clean beach a PI is good, if it is dirty with pieces of iron you will digging to china for hairpins, nails and tiny pieces of iron.... Some will tell you that you can tell when it is iron by a double blip, maybe after years of use, but I have never seen anyone using a PI at the beach that didnt show me a handfull of tiny pieces of iron when I asked how they were doing....

CASPER-2

Gold Member