Dual Field owners ?

MadPixelPusher

Oct 25, 2010
Detector(s) used
Surf P.I. Dual Field
Dig the bobby pins or you might miss these...

diamond bobby pins.jpg

kinigit

Jul 19, 2012
Gainesville, FL
Detector(s) used
Dual Field PI, Stingray 2, Golden Sabre Plus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Glad to see this post I have a dual field and am trying to learn it. I will keep an eye on the pointers you get.

OBN

Gold Member
Dec 30, 2008
Maryland Waters
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
"Excalibur"..
"AQ" Impulse
Primary Interest:
Other
I hunt almetal with the excalibur which you get the double chirps just like the DF. Most of the time the double chirps are junk but I do check many with a switch to Discrimate. I'm still a rookie with the DF..............One tip on finding gold is Turning up the delay to see if the signal
goes away. If it goes away it's more likely gold than coin, copper or
iron...Getting the gold is better when the delay is at the shortest.

I would recommend Clives (CJC) book on the DF.

Last edited:

trsrseeker

May 10, 2011
FL / NY
Detector(s) used
Whites Dual Field, Excaliber 11, Sovereign, CTX 3030
Clive's book is a must - really shortens the learning curve - one of his tips that is invaluable with the DF; when you get a double beep change the direction of your coil sweep and see is the double beep repeats. If it does repeat at 90 degrees to the original coil sweep direction then I dig it - usually large hoop ear rings which are occasionally gold - if the double beep does not repeat at 90 degrees it is more often than not a bobby pin in the areas I hunt so I move on and spend the time digging something with a higher probability of being gold. I like OBN''s tip - never thought of that but it makes sense. Good hunting!

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used