Oct 15, 2011
On the brink....
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal II
Minelab Explorer ll
Sov Gt
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have a question for all the Minelab hunters. Why do allot of people have a Sovereign for the beach and a Excal for the water? I thought a Excal was a waterproof Sovereign. What is the benift of having both machines?

Good question.

River Hound

Dec 17, 2011
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi I am new to this but I think its kind of simple.Sovereign has notch discrimination meaning if I want to hunt for nickles I can and I can notch out dimes and quarters if I choose to. bottom line more control over discrimination

OP
OP
onthespot

onthespot

Feb 6, 2012
Asia
Detector(s) used
Excal ll, Sov GT, CZ-21 & Sand Shark
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Thanks for the answer!

So the Sovereign has better discrimination? Any other reason the Sovereign is better out of the water?

Sir Gala Clad

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
They are different tools

Think of the Excalibur and the Sovereign as different tools.

If you dive, or shallow water hunt below waist deep you will need to use the Excalibur as it is water proof.

If you live in an area where it rains constantly, an Excalibur or any water proof detector is ideal as you don't have to worry about moisture damaging it.

The price that you pay for this ruggedness is that the detector is heavier, costs more to buy and maintain as it has to be built stronger and pressure tested. You also loose flexibility as the head phones and coils are hard wired and cannot be changed to meet beach conditions. Also, as it uses an older Sovereign technology it is less capable than the current Sovereign GT.

Yes, you can be more flexible by installing water proof connectors to change headphones and coil size. But that becomes a weak link and voids your Minelab warranty.

Now let's look at the Sovereign: