My new hopped up Excal II

rbdigger

Greenie
Jan 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OK, I am new to the Excal, but even in the short amount of time I have had my Excal II I have learned to love and hate it. Love all its capabilities, but hated the stock headphones and the fact that to go from PP to Discrimination mode you had to keep turning a knob that was not easy to get to. So, with the help of OBN I did the headphone mod and the remote PP button mod. Wow. Let me tell you. My Excal is now one mean hunting machine. The remote PP button makes hunting so much more efficient.

I have an Anderson CF shaft on my Excal and the button I chose to use fit perfectly in the top of the handle. The button is waterproof and how I did the mod should be completely waterproof all the way around.

I set the button in the handle by embedding it in gel coat resin which is 100% waterproof and should protect the backside of the button from water shorting.

Where the wire goes through the endcap, I just drilled the smallest hole possible for the wire to go through and sealed the inside of the cap with gel coat resin. On the outside I replaced the factory heat shrink cover with new heat shrink and left a "cup" of extra material which I filled with Marine GOOP. I do not believe there is any way water is going to get through my wire pass through area.

Took it for a test run at the beach this morning for a 2 hour hunt and it worked flawlessly. I found more good targets then I ever did before due to increased efficiency in hunting with the remote PP button.

Thanks again to OBN for all the help and the videos for both the headphones and the remote PP button. Could not have done it without his help.

Excal PP button handle wire exit.jpg Excal PP button side view.jpg Excal PP button wire wrap.jpg excal PP button.jpg Excal back pod PP button wire entry shrink and seal.jpg

Upvote 0

OBN

Gold Member
Dec 30, 2008
Maryland Waters
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
"Excalibur"..