To dig or not to dig?

VERODIGDUG

May 13, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a quick question. I live on the Treasure Coast and I'm new to md'ing. I was out on a local beach today during low tide and got a screaming hit. Based on the tone, it should've been pretty close to the surface....unless it was BIG. I panned out and roughly measured the tone from one end to another and came up with about 16ft long and 2 ft wide. I'm assuming i can't be the first person to find this. I dug about a foot and nothing..... I thought maybe it was just a major false so I moved on. On my way back I went to the area again and it was hitting the same as before. I'm assuming it can't be a storm drain since it ends way before the dune line. Any ideas on what it could be or if I should go back with a shovel and see if I can get to it? Something is def there! I hit the sand with my scoop and could feel the area around me move as if there was a hole under my feet. Just not sure if its worth the effort???

Upvote 0

bigscoop

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2010
Wherever there be treasure!
Detector(s) used
Older blue Excal with full mods, Equinox 800.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I believe one of the divers for Mel Fisher's group uncovered a heavy gold chain that was something like 11 ft. (Can't help you out, but I'm pretty darn good at planting a thought.) :laughing7:

PS: Probably just an old post or something. :dontknow:

OP
OP
VERODIGDUG

VERODIGDUG

May 13, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My buddy is a Lt. n the Indian River Fire Dept. he told me they're always finding bombs and ordinance on our beaches due to WWII training. Last one they detonated was 600 lbs and still live! Makes me a little gun shy to be shovel digging around something that big

Sir Gala Clad

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting