What I really want is.......

marco

Sep 22, 2007
SoCal
Detector(s) used
AT-Pro
Summer is coming up and where I live its really hot...but an hour away is the beach and its nice. There are also 3 lakes with sandy swimming beaches within 30 minutes. This summer to cool off I have decided to buy a detector so I can wade in both fresh and salt water...approx knee to waist deep...cooling off and hopefully finding a few rings. Im sure I will find a lot of crap but that comes with detecting...Im not new to it...but I AM new to water.

So my question is...what would be a great all-around detector for water in general...salt and fresh. I dont care if it goes down 200 feet but I want to know It wont be destroyed if a wave hits me. Some level of disc would be nice but I would use the absolute minimum...just so I'm not digging to china for iron every 3 feet! A few years ago i ran around with an ATPro...I dug a ton of clad but not much else. It didnt perform well at the beach...ok in the dry but not at all in the wet sand. Work got in the way and I sold it. No AtPro bashing from me...it was great in parks, ect...but this time around I want to focus on water and jewelry.

I am aware of PI vs VLF...but it does seem that multiple frequency detectors are also popular.
A few models I am considering in no order:

ML Excalibur
Garret Infinium
Tesoro...but not sure which of the sharks is most versatile for both fresh-salt.
Fisher CZ's...there seem to be several...any info on the most versatile would be great.

If anyone has used several and think one would be best from your experience I am all ears. If I have missed something let me know. If money was no object the ML CTX would be an option but jeez id kindof like to spend less than $1000 not $2500.

Thanks

Last edited:
Upvote 0

redcobra8u

Bronze Member
Jan 24, 2014
Los Angeles
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal II, Garrett AT Pro, CTX3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting