Help with settings on old coinmaster

Mark77

Jan 21, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi,
I'm new to metal detecting. I live in Australia and am primarily interested in doing some detecting on the beach - both in the dry sand and wet sand. I have a mint condition Coinmaster 5500/d Series 3 on its way from the US in the post. I decided on an older analog detector as my first to properly learn how they work.

In the meantime I've been reading the manual a few times. A lot to get your head around...

I have made a list of a few general questions that I should be ale to answer myself after a bit of practice, but I was wondering if anyone has any comments from their own experience which might speed up the learning curve for me.

For hunting on wet salt beaches, it was suggested that I use one of the non-discriminating GEB modes with SAT turned on. With this set-up I will get no discrimination but should get good depth with smooth operation once ground balanced.

There is a statement in the manual that in disc mode salt is the first thing to be rejected in disc mode. Aren't I already knocking this out by ground balancing? If I am able so ground balance out the wet salt sand then I guess this in not necessary and discrimination modes are really only to reject junk targets.

It also states that TR disc when set up in "mode 2" has more rejection than all of the GEB modes and is useful for wet sand beaches. TR Disc mode 2 refers to setting up in this mode in a similar manner to ground balancing, but instead of using the GEB knob, the Disc knob is used. You have to turn the knob the opposite way that you would turn the GEB knob during the procedure. Again, I don't really get this. Surely if the ground can't be balanced out, then using GEB disc mode and adjusting the disc knob in will allow enough rejection for wet salt beaches. Is it only a difference of whether there is more background noise?