Friendly MDers?

Tenderfoot

Mar 17, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been detecting for about 5 years, mostly on beaches. In that time I've met about a dozen detectorists on beaches that I hunt. No matter how friendly I try to be, I always get the impression that I'm infringing on someone else's territory. Even if I was there first. Most times they're polite but not overly friendly. I don't know what I could find short of a gold stash that I wouldn't be just as delighted to have a fellow detectorists find and share the story. Yet the club I belong to seems to have great folks (while at the meetings). Wish folks would realize that the most wealth we will come away with is the friends we make.

Upvote 0

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I guess there are miscreants everywhere. Just keep smiling! :skullflag:

OBN

Gold Member
Dec 30, 2008
Maryland Waters
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
"Excalibur"..
"AQ" Impulse
Primary Interest:
Other
Like Terry said.. Just keep smiling!
skullflag.png

I have seen the same, many just want to hunt with only a few talkers which is fine.

One thing I do hate is when someone claims a beach or acts like your infringing on there spot.

With this I make sure they see me hunting behind them and working it hard.

Clubs are different, more relaxed and sharing of finds and stories. And many are there to get info so

there going to be more friendly, I can't tell you how many have come to me this past year once I started

showing my finds asking where you hunt, and can we meet next week.

flgliderpilot

Bronze Member
Apr 28, 2015
Saint Augustine, FL
Detector(s) used
CZ-21, Minelab Equinox, Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest: