mlutz

Dec 20, 2016
Virginia
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Garrett Pro Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I have detected a couple of times on the beach near my house and have noticed that the ATP does unusual readings in the wet sand. I tried ground balancing, but no real difference. Has anyone else had this issue? Maybe it does not like the salt water? In the dry sand it does fine. I am still new to the game so I may not be doing something correctly.

I have found coins, but they were mostly newer and completely roached out. One 1964 D penny cleaned up pretty well. No rings or anything, but lots of bottle tops that I took with me.

Upvote 0

PAScott

Jul 28, 2014
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030 and AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I like many, have had the same same problem. I've heard guys say they have been able to use theirs in the wet sand. They had more patience then me. I've found some coins but it's hard to make the good signal out through all the chatter. It is great in the dry sand though. Best of luck!

OP
OP
mlutz

mlutz

Dec 20, 2016
Virginia
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Garrett Pro Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I like many, have had the same same problem. I've heard guys say they have been able to use theirs in the wet sand. They had more patience then me. I've found some coins but it's hard to make the good signal out through all the chatter. It is great in the dry sand though. Best of luck!

It may just me still learning the machine. Hopefully some day I will figure it out. Too cold to mess with it now!

G.A.P.metal

Gold Member
Jul 5, 2010
"Kan-a-we-o-la" Head on a Pole N.Y. Seneca Territo
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus, 11" Low Freq. , 9" X35 Coils, MI 6 Pointer...
Land or Sea Pointer
King Of Spades 40" KS-D SA and 40" KS-S-SA
L
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Single Frequency detectors struggle in salt water and wet salt sand.
Get a machine with multi Frequency's.
Gary

Irishgoldhound

Bronze Member