Amateur Bottle Digger in NC

NCprivyDigger

Apr 8, 2010
North Carolina
Hi, I am new to privy digging and bottle collecting. I started off finding soda bottles, marbles, canning jars, white glass cosmedic jars and white and clear canning jar seal caps hiking in the creeks of areas I have lived. I only recently discovered privy digging. I have found my first privy and cleared out everything that wasn't dirt or rock. Though I feel that this one was one of the newest privies with a abandoned house dating back to 1802. I found depression glass (broken of course) dating between 1930-1936. Plenty of soda bottles, window pane glass, Ball and Mason canning jars, ketchup or hot sauce bottles and white glass cosmedic jars. I have managed to identify most of my finds and date most of the finds no older than 1930. I know there has got to be other privies on the property somewhere, I just haven't had any luck locating them. Anyway I drift from my main question for bottles. I found on the highest layer of this privy a whole pile of brown/amber bottles. On the shoulder are the words "NO DEPOSIT * NO RETURN" and "NOT TO BE REFILLED". I have been searching for 2 months now and can't find anything on the net to identify these bottles. Posted is a pic of the bottles in question. I currently misplaced my cable to connect my camera to my PC, so I'm using the one and only pic I could find on-line. The pic came from another gentleman looking to identify the same bottles he found on his property in another state.
As soon as I locate or purchase another cable for my camera I will upload more pics of my cleaned up bottles and the markings on the bottom if needed to further help identifying these bottles.

Attachments

• bottles1.jpg
    bottles1.jpg
    75.7 KB · Views: 5,827
OP
OP
NCprivyDigger

NCprivyDigger

Apr 8, 2010
North Carolina