Amateur Digger in NC

NCprivyDigger

Apr 8, 2010
North Carolina
Hello, fellow treasure hunters. Let me start off with saying I just found this site and joined last night. I've already jumped in last night to test the waters asking for help to ID some bottles. I have been collecting bottles since 1991. I started out finding bottles in crawl spaces of homes I was doing HVAC work. Then I moved up to rummaging through old buildings and houses that were abandoned or in the process of being remodeled. Obtaining permission to go into these places has always been rough. Having to track down the owners who live in other states and even one owner in the UK made for a hard time getting the proper permission. I even obtained notarized paperwork from the owners stating I had permission to cover my own rear-end from neighbors, nearby family of the owners and local law enforcement. I was so excited and proud of my findings I went to a local bottle show with some of what I thought to be "The Best Pieces" to show off. After all that I have gone through to obtain much of my bottles and jars I discovered that 80% of my collection was worthless money wise. Though it was still very unique, and some pretty to display. Seems I had been collecting very common bottles that other collectors before me had left behind. Let me tell you, I was disappointed as well as very excited to learn my collection was common for an amateur. I have started researching more about bottle collecting to learn about the many bottles I never even thought about or knew about in bottle dumps, trash dumps and outhouse digging. I currently rent a house built in 1978 on property that has belonged to the landlord's family back mid 1700's. Much of the land over the years has been sold off and developed. But there still remains 5 acres with a simple two story farm house built in 1803/4 on the property. I have permission to dig with the respects of not trashing the property in the process. The acreage around the house is v