Bass Assassin 5

unclemac

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2011
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Now as I have said before I have been coming to this beach for 50+ years. I have picked up a ton of treasures too....well, treasures to me anyway. I collect a bunch of different stuff, agates, floats, arrowheads, bottles, bottle necks, coins, beach glass, broken pottery...etc. Every-time I go there I expect that this time is the time the beach will be played out. The beach will be picked dry, there is nothing left to find. (Except for the dam plastic bottles and rubber gloves that the fishermen lose...if I collected those I could set up my own shop). Well anyway, every time I think that I head out on my walk and then come back with an agate the size of your fist or a new coin, or a 4 inch square copper ships nail...or...well you get the picture. I have never been skunked, but I always expect to be.

That is why I found it so odd, when I went out on walk number five and was thinking to myself..."I am going to find another bottle in my spot today"...I didn't hope for it, I didn't wish for it... I just KNEW it. I suppose this was a year ago January...pretty sure it was in the winter as I expect that my good fortune was in part do to the frequent sou'westers we had been having (typical winter weather, that) and the surf had been pounding the clay. Well...moving my story along, I was approaching my spot but moving slow and keeping my eyes on my feet. I didn't want to insult the Gods of Luck with my arrogance by casting my eyes too soon to my spot without going through the ritual of searching the rest of the beach first. You know how it it...we all have our luck superstitions.