fiberglass probe... what do you guys think?

arrowhead82

Dec 12, 2012
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro and Garrett Pro pointer
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I'm just starting out at bottle digging and I was having a hard time finding spring steel for my probe. the metal dowels at the hardware store were too flexible, and to get a custom piece of spring steel made, it cost 60 bucks. So instead of spring steel, I used fiberglass, wood and brass. what do you guys think?

I used the fiberglass rod you would use to put up a reflector near your fence or mailbox
IMG_4251[1].JPG

To make the handle, I simply drilled halfway into a piece of wood and glued it to the fiberglass rod using epoxy.
IMG_4252[1].JPG

To make the tip, I found a brass fitting that fit onto the end of the pole and ground it down to a blunt point
IMG_4253[1].JPG

It seems to be working out pretty well so far.

P.S.: Any tips on finding/digging bottle dumps or privies would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :thumbsup:

sunrunner

Feb 22, 2012
georgia
Detector(s) used
Garrett 150
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
it looks o.k. what you whant is to get the probe to be able to feel,by vibrations the differences between rock,brick,and glass.

RelicDude

Bronze Member
Apr 20, 2012
north west connecticut
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-trac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That is a neat idea. I would just be worried about the fiber glass splintering in my hands.

Sent from my iPod touch using TreasureNet

PikesPeakCharlie

Bronze Member
Nov 19, 2008
Pikes Peak
Detector(s) used
Garrett Gti 2500, Garrett Gta 350, Garrett Pro-Pointer -- Whites IDX Pro, AutoMax V2 Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting