what to buy ?

saltednuts

Feb 12, 2011
york county, penn.
Detector(s) used
presently garrett gta 1000 , fisher cz5 and now a fisher cz21 10.5" coil and vibra=quatic 2 pinpointer add another cz21
was gonna get opinions on best beach machines or all around water land detector, but after reading thru all the comments in brand section I have it figured out. Ipresently own a garrett gta 1000 that needs sent back for repair found ton of items with it and I also have a fisher cz5 quicksilver that is 20 years old and still will out hunt most new machines. Ive been detecting for better than 40 years I think that's why I can usually out hunt most because I know my machines and like them both have used others and I don't think they compare to either machine. Im going with a fisher cz21. I was hunting a beach last fall when a gentleman with a fancy beach machine walked up to me and told me my fisher cz5 was no good on salt beaches, I thought that funny cause I had already found 3 gold and 2 silver rings plus a 14 k diamond stud and about 8 dollars in change plus ton of trash. whats funny is when I ask him how he was doing he said not enough sand removed to get to good stuff he had about 3 dollars in change and trash. Ironic thing is I hunt right behind him up the beachwas detecting items as deep as 16 inches with old worn out cz5. my buddy was hunting with an at pro he also did well after I reset his machine and slowed him down. the other gentlemans machine was a minelab beach machine apparently he didn't know the machine and hunted way to fast. not machines fault his fault and he told me he hunts that beach regularly as he lives close by for the last 30 years. moral to story is get to know your equipment and no one gets it all.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used