Family Treasure - The usual NOOB question

May 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys, I am new over here, please be gentle :laughing7:

I come from a hometown where the "old generation" would collect and hide their Gold in small olive oil tanks or towels and hide them in the surrounding land (to the old stone houses). 90% of those dead from old age never revealed their treasures which were lost forever.

I am pretty sure that there are tons of gold still hidden in the village waiting to be found. I am a noob in all this, used a metal detector once which I borrowed from a friend, but it was not gold specific. It was also a bit tricky to work with (some brand made in Australia).

Question which was asked lots of times, I am sure. Can you guys pls give me a quick guideline (out of experience... no worries, I know I can google to find "The best" but I prefer someone who experienced it) to what is the best GOLD detector I can buy from the market?

Conditions:
- Can work in a Rocky area;
- Can detect GOLD (not interested in other metals);
- The deepest possible it can go.

Appreciate it,
Danny

OP
OP
P
May 18, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Haha, they are like small 20 Liter square tanks used to store olive oil in them. Their material is the same thickness as the top of the Pepsi cans. Will take pics next time I am in town.

Coldshuz

May 18, 2012
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Minelab X-Terra 305
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Why limit you're self to just gold? Those cans could store lots of paper money and/or silver coins.

regnartoken

Greenie
May 14, 2014
Roseburg,Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75 LTD,Minelab Excaliber,Whites QXT Pro
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting