The cucu fox

Tenderfoot
Jan 24, 2015
detroit michigan
Detector(s) used
jeohunter 3d,
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone I'm new to TN and new to Metal detecting I will be going to central mexico first week of feb I'm going for two weeks to spent time with my dad and one of his hobbies is dowsing I rather detect instead, any advice on how to use the jeohunter 3d will be nice I hadn't use a metal detector before some gold and silver coins and relics had been found near my town, I'll be md on flat land with high vegetation and on steep rocky hills Tks everyone. The cucu fox

frogmaster-riviera

Bronze Member
Oct 22, 2014
Greece, French Riviera, Switzerland, North Italy
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030, Excalibur IIS, Sea Hunter MK II, Ebinger Seacon, Quest Pro, XP Deus, Deteknix Quest Pro, Makro Pointer, Xpointer diver & Wader
Primary Interest:
Other
Not sure Jeohunter 3d is the right detector to start with....

Youtub videos are nice..... but you will have to buy a CATERPILAR to start digging!

Honestly, to find coins Jeohunter is not the right machine.

let me give you an example, when I hunt for Antique coins (Before Christ period), most of the time they are located from half a foot to 2 Ft depth! Take a look at this one I've found under the sea, about 1 Ft deep: http://www.treasurenet.com/forums/beach-shallow-water/448111-550-bc-coin-found-scuba-detection-ctx.html

Whatever the detector you will use, keep in mind that objects need to be BIG to be detected at > 2 ft. depth. JeoHunter won't see any coins as they are calibrate to search deeply for massive objects.

If vegetation is High and they are heavy rocks, be sure they could have been a past civilization over there. If it's the case, then start with a small coil 6/8" and try to find traces of irons. If you find some, then GOOD you are at the right place.