Could This Be A Cache Marker? (Diagram Included)

Mr. Cotta

Jun 27, 2007
Southern Ohio
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTP 1350
I have been detecting for about three years now. My best site has been my Dad's property. He lives in a mid-1800's farm house. It is on a small street that used to be just a single lane for this house. Then later on more and more houses were built on this street. I have found all kinds of things in his yard around the house. Two LC's, Wheaties, Franklin Half, jewelry, farming implements, buttons, etc. The strangest find of all is what I want to discuss in this thread. I dug a metal pot out of his front yard more than a year ago, and didn't think much of it. Now I am thinking more of it.

This house has a room inside with an original stone fireplace. This is the only room on the first floor with windows. A big window in the front, and a big window looking out back. My Dad just recently put in a nice stone paver patio out the back - and in his preparation he discovered a giant metal cistern directly behind the stone fireplace room in the backyard. I think a cache of coins might be hidden in my Dad's front yard. I think it was hidden by someone in the early 1900's - maybe even the same person who installed the cistern. This person might have wanted to hide the cache in the backyard, but couldn't hide it close enough to the house because of the cistern. So they chose the front yard (the only other place they could always keep an eye on it from the window).