Newb from the Mother Lode

Lotus Geologist

Jan 6, 2014
Lotus/Coloma, California
Detector(s) used
MXT, TRX pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
<Posted already in the general introductions section... I'm cross posting here in the California section to see who lives nearby me in El Dorado County>

Howdy,

Went panning for the first time in about 30 years this weekend at Mineral Bar on the North Fork American. Really brought back great memories as a kid learning to pan from my grandfather and about the history of the gold rush. Found a dozen teeny specks and a couple flakes in about 10 pans of material. So yeah... I got the fever for yet another hobby and found this forum...

A few years ago the sandwich maker and I bought property and moved to Lotus... I'm a registered California Professional Geologist (PG) with a B.S. in Geological Engineering (1996 Brunton Award distinguished graduate in Geology, Colorado School of Mines) followed by graduate school at Penn State University, geochemistry emphasis (gas transport dynamics in volcanic and geothermal systems). What that means to you old codger legitimate prospectors (and I say that with MUCH respect!) is that I have just enough knowledge to be dangerous...

Other hobbies include bow hunting, competitive pistol shooting (IDPA), and whitewater kayaking.

I own my own a small in-situ geophysics company based in the SF Bay Area (my clients are in the geotechnical engineering field so most of my work relates to earthquake hazards and foundation design) and because I work for myself I am blessed by more free time than the average 40-something guy... Would love to hook up with some locals for any tips, etc... Don't need any honey holes... More like "watch out for meth heads at such-and-such place".