New Member Introduction + Initial Stats

steelsoldier

Feb 14, 2009
Raleigh NC
Hi Everyone,

I recently started the hobby and just joined to Tnet and wanted to introduce myself. Actually, I have been collecting coins for several years (focusing on types from foreign countries). My main sources were friends and family traveling overseas and occasional trades. With the economy and everything that well dried up so I developed the profound idea of searching US coins to find foreign coins :) I have been meaning to start a US collection anyway, so that served well. After a month in the hobby my initial thoughts are: the dumping process sucks (not many banks with coin counters around here (NC), so have to re-roll or take the hit at coinstar) but an excellent way to jump start a coin collection. I am already done with the easy folders (post 64 quarters, dimes, etc) and got pretty deep in nickels and pennies. I search about a box per day. Here are my initial stats:

Quarters: (3 boxes, 1935)
Dimes: (2 boxes, 1964)
Nickels: (6 boxes, 5 war-time, 187 pre-60)
Pennies: (18 boxes, 220 wheats (oldest 1910), 99 wide, 98 wide (3))
Machine vs. Hand rolls: So far no statistically significant difference, hand rolled pennies do a little bit better, while machine rolled nickels produce more war-time and pre 60s.

My best find was a full hand roll of wheats. My biggest disappointment has been the lack of foreign coins. With 65435 coins searched with the exception of Canadians (84) I found only 10 (UK (3), Panamas (2), Euro (1), Thailand (1), Cayman, Bahamas (2)). Hopefully it will get better.... My goals for the year are finding an IH, merc, buffalo, 2000 wide and as many foreign coins as possible. I am always open to trades, especially if anyone wants to dump their foreign coins... By the way, this group is great a lot of knowledge and insights, helped me a lot to get started, thanks all...

Upvote 0

treasurefiend

Gold Member
Mar 17, 2008
Chicago IL
🏆 Honorable Mentions: