new to treasure hunting

T

texva

this might be a dumb question but i am new to this and just wondering how much are the 40% silver halves worth i know it changes but i am just wondeing about what they normally are worth and second is it hard to find someone to buy the 40 % halves for there silver value?

Upvote 0

The Beep Goes On

Silver Member
Jan 11, 2006
Houston, TX
Detector(s) used
CTX3030, Excalibur II, V3i, TRX
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I don't know about selling them for the silver, but this site has some good info and is easy to use (there are many, many more sites and books with coin values, etc.)...

http://www.coinfacts.com/

HH!
TBGO

Paul in WA

Oct 22, 2005
Washington State
Detector(s) used
DFX
I may be wrong because I don't sell mine, but I think some people have said the 40% are worth 2X the face value, so I would say $1. But I am sure someone here knows.

Paul

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat
40% silver halves have .1479 oz silver in them, which would be 7 halves =an ounce of silver. $3.50 face value vs. whatever the spot price is on any given day. Also figure if someone melts them they assume the cost of melting and refining, so maybe twice face value is not bad....

Someone on here recently sold a bunch and got $1.05 each for them, I think....

vegasmtl

Jan 11, 2006
South Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Bullseye II