Captains Log: The White Whale is Dead (Ikes)

Rocket7

Oct 28, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Captain's Log: The White Whale is Dead (Ikes)

About 3 weeks ago I made a post about how I finally got a bank to order me some Ikes. Unfortunately, this first attempt failed and the blasted golden dollars arrived. The bank apologized and said they would make every effort to get a bag of Eisenhowers. All hope appeared lost.... that is until today! Last Monday the bank called me and said they spoke with the coin service and are putting in the request again, but this is what they did last time so hope was not rekindled. They told me to come by and pick them up on Wendsday (today). I was on my way over to the bank just like last time, when I received a phone call. The vault teller informed me that yes, the Ikes did indeed arrive! I had to see it to believe it (incredulous I know), but lo and behold I arrived to the following:

This is my first time searching Ikes at this volume. Keepers as I understand it are Mint Mark S (40%) and silver dollars (obviously). There are different Types as well, are these worth hunting down? Any tips? I'll let you know what I find (fingers crossed). About to begin!

Attachments

• photo-5.JPG
    photo-5.JPG
    728.3 KB · Views: 192
  • photo-4.JPG
    photo-4.JPG
    746.6 KB · Views: 191
Upvote 0

theekman

Jan 1, 2013
Illinois
Detector(s) used
garrett ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
No tips here ive never been lucky enough to get a bag of dollar coins, if i had to guess id just grab a handful, align them, then rim check.

Good luck, excited to see what you get

Last edited:

boristhespider88

Bronze Member
May 10, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other