Morgan Dollar- PICTURE, Help grade/value?

BuffaloBoy

Gold Member
Feb 16, 2011
America
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Attachments

• IMG_0001.jpg
    IMG_0001.jpg
    229.7 KB · Views: 1,241
  • IMG_0002.jpg
    IMG_0002.jpg
    220.3 KB · Views: 1,146
  • IMG_0001.jpg
    IMG_0001.jpg
    229.7 KB · Views: 960
  • IMG_0002.jpg
    IMG_0002.jpg
    220.3 KB · Views: 986

skelly9131

Jan 12, 2010
I'm not sure about that date, but if it's a common one than I would say it's worth what most common Morgans are worth which is a few bucks over it's silver value. That would be about $28-30 right now.

TheRockDoc

May 28, 2011
Im by no means an expert, but I would say it is definately a MS60 or better. Unfortunately though it is about as common as any for the date.... you could maybe get 40 bucks for it, 50 max.... around here anyways...

chris.

beautiful coin. I love the toning. Toning is like personality, everyones is different.

SilverFace

Silver Member
Aug 21, 2011
Silverville
Primary Interest:
Other
1885 Morgan mintage: 17,787,930.

It's a common date but at least it's a pre-'21 and it's in very nice condition. And Morgans are and will always be popular with collectors and investors :)

Now's a good time to be buying (IMO) but of course nothing beats finding silver @ face - unless you can find it for free of course. :)

But then again finding Morgan dollars is a lot harder than finding silver half dollars.

HH

Numismaniac

Bronze Member
Apr 1, 2010
Nice coin Happy. I'd say it looks Uncirculated, but the key for grading unc Morgans is Ms Liberty's cheek, and yours has some contact marks from other coins (not surprising as these things were stored/moved around in huge $1000 face canvas bags for most of their life). My guess is probably about MS62 or so. Probably a $40 coin. Still pretty cool to have a nice big silver dollar in decent shape.