is this a greaser or pmd?

griffith 90

Feb 4, 2017
Montana
Primary Interest:
Other
20170306_180625.jpg 20170306_180639.jpg

i'm still learning about errors so any info would be helpful. found this 1991d in a roll today. Want to know if its a true struck through grease. If it is what is value.

dejapooh

Bronze Member
Nov 14, 2012
Thousand Oaks, CA
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm guessing it is an incomplete laminate of the copper onto the zinc. I guess you could get the same result from heat as PMD, but the color would likely be effected too...

port ewen ace

Silver Member
Dec 16, 2012
port ewen ny
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
AT-PRO & Equinox800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
found a few Zincolns from '83 & newer with the "Colonel Kurtz" look, my guess is massive gas bubbling of the clad layer on both surfaces. bet the bumps collapse when ya' push on 'em

huntsman53

Gold Member
Jun 11, 2013
East Tennessee
Primary Interest:
Other
IMHO, poorly prepared Zinc planchet which did not allow for good adhesion of the Copper plating thus creating air or gas bubbles underneath. Excessive heat transferred from the Dies to the planchet during the minting process, may have aided the separation.

Frank

OP
OP
G

griffith 90

Feb 4, 2017
Montana
Primary Interest:
Other
IMHO, poorly prepared Zinc planchet which did not allow for good adhesion of the Copper plating thus creating air or gas bubbles underneath. Excessive heat transferred from the Dies to the planchet during the minting process, may have aided the separation.

Frank

would it be worth keeping?

SorenCoins

Apr 5, 2015
Parker, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Minelab Go Find 60, Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting