1965 and 1990 Washingtons

Tavis

Feb 6, 2008
I got a roll of quarters for the laundry here on campus, and when I was looking through them, I found a 1965 with no mint marking, and a 1990 D. The 1990 looks better than the 1990 S's that were in the same roll, did Denver only make proofs? It looks way cleaner, more detailed, etc, than a S, especially for a 18 year old coin. Also, did the 1965 have any silver in them at all? Sorry for the questions, I'm fairly new at coins and don't know too much about them.

FredCobol

Apr 6, 2007
Chandler, AZ
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE, Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ, White's MXT Pro, White's Coinmaster 2 TR Deluxe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
1) The 1965 has no silver. 1964 was the last year for silver quarters.

2) In 1990 Denver did not make proofs, San Fransisco did. So do you really have 1990-S's? If you do then they are proofs and should be very shiny so I'm confused. :-\ Any difference in appearance is probably due to the quality of the original strike and the amount of circulation.

OP
OP
T

Tavis

Feb 6, 2008
Well darn, I thought that 64 was the last year, but my one friend kept insisting that it was 40% silver. And yeah, I had a suspicion that it was just from the original strike and circulation, still looks really nice so maybe I'll hold to it.

Also, out of the 10$ worth of quarters, only 6 of them are from Denver. Is it just because they're farther west than Philly, and so most of them stay out west? Or do they just not strike as many? And, what mint do coins come from if they don't have a mark? I have a 74 here, looks in decent shape but doesn't have a mint marking. Thanks in advance!

FredCobol

Apr 6, 2007
Chandler, AZ
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE, Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ, White's MXT Pro, White's Coinmaster 2 TR Deluxe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Half dollars were 40% silver from 1965-1970 but not quarters.

No mint mark means Philadelphia.