Suction Dredging permits in California question

MI96Romeo

Dec 25, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello folks,
TL/DR: What if one were using a suction dredge.....NOT to recover minerals but adopted the position "I am removing garbage or I am extracting rocks that I intend to sell for $x/unit of measure" then might one be able to legally suction dredge?

*full disclosure*
This is only my 2nd post, I just joined. I am barely even an amateur to hunting for gold and I am not a lawyer. I have done a bit of reading but lack practical experience in prospecting/panning/sluicing etc etc. I suspect I am missing something that will shoot the idea down.
That being said....

The current position of the state is no dredging permits https://wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Suction-Dredge-Permits

"Under new state law..........the use of vacuum or suction dredge equipment....in order to recover minerals.."

What if one were using a suction dredge.....NOT to recover minerals but to remove debris/trash or even gravel and sand proper?

It seems gravel and sand are not minerals https://www.hayeslawfirmllc.com/mineral.pdf
Debris and trash definitely are not minerals.

If one were to adopt the position "I am removing garbage or I am extracting rocks that I intend to sell for $x/unit of measure" then might one be able to legally suction dredge? It just so happens there is bycatch of gold in a sluice.

okbasspro

Jan 14, 2012
Chickasha,Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
If caught they will confiscate your equipment and you will have a fight in court. Trying to play in the gray area will not work.

N-Lionberger

Bronze Member
Dec 1, 2013
Arcata, California
Detector(s) used
Fisher 1212-x
Fisher Gold Bug 2
Whites 4900/SP3
Dowsing rods
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
People have tried all the loopholes, even dredge without a sluice or those gravel transfer devices.

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used