OK, DUMB question here (RE: filming live digs)

sgoss66

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Jan 11, 2011
Norman, OK
Detector(s) used
Minelab Manticore, Minelab Equinox 800, Minelab Equinox 600, Minelab CTX 3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi all!

I'm thinking about doing some filming of live digs, and it's something I've never done before, so I am literally "clueless," in terms of the "logistics" of trying to film a dig, and then getting it downloaded, edited, and posted.

As I think it through, I come up with many questions -- what camera(s) do the job well, where/how to mount the camera, how to turn it on/off quickly and easily (as I won't be springing for a fancy camera like Calabash Digger's, that you can TALK to, to turn it on and off, LOL!) :laughing7:

If anyone would like to answer any of the above questions -- i.e. give me some tips, that would be great. However, I have one specific question, at this point, as I try to think this through. It revolves around "audio."

I'm trying to figure out how to get good audio of the Equinox tones being heard with the target, recorded onto the video. Obviously, the external speaker on the machine would probably be the best (only) way...but -- the issue in my mind is, if I'm running Bluetooth headphones, and I hit a good target that I want to film, I can't think of quick/easy way to transfer the audio from the headphones, to the EQX external speaker (and then back again, when I'm done filming). The only way I would know of, to do it, would be to turn off the headphones (allowing the audio to transfer to the external speaker), and then -- after the dig, turn the headphones back on, and pair them to the machine again. That seems tedious; I'm sure there's an easier way. Can anyone clue me in?

Thanks!

Steve

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Steve,