Dog attacks my metal detector!!!

Cool Hand Fluke

Bronze Member
Nov 28, 2006
In the Heart of Wine Country in Northern Californi
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ6, CZ5, Coinstrike, Fisher CZ20, Fisher 1235X, Tesoro Conquistador, Whites Surfmaster P.I. ,
, Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi All,

I was park hunting in one of the many older parks in San Francisco and had a large dog literally attacked my metal detector. He started to jump on and bite my coil. I tried to turn around and face the other way, but he just continued the attack. I lifted the metal detector above my head and the dog was now jumping in the air and still trying to get at my detector! This dog was going nuts! It was showing his teeth and growling. I finally had enough of this experience and pulled out my pepper spray and blasted him in the face. He took off like a jack rabbit! I've been carring pepper spray for about 10 years, finally got a reason to use it. Glad I had it!

swampgal

May 3, 2008
G, Texas
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic III
My ridgeback done the same with my detector- He can not be around when I am operating it. Kinda like a vacume cleaner he does not like it.

swampgal

May 3, 2008
G, Texas
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic III
Ridgeback rescue. Find one in your area. I bought mine from a hog hunter, he won't hunt hogs, Kept jim from being deep- sixed. But he has saved me thousands of dollars twice on break ins. He is a good blood hound for humans.

FCCDFEd

Sep 29, 2007
Terra Bella, Ca.
Detector(s) used
DFX, IDXPro, MXT, Lobo St., At Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Do you guys think that certain dogs, or even breeds are susceptible to the electronic field that the detectors put out?

HCW

Bronze Member
Feb 5, 2007
Metro west ,Boston
Detector(s) used
Minelab equinox 800, Whites MXT "retired"