F2 and bleed through iron signals...

digger27

Bronze Member
May 18, 2011
I know my F2 and its language pretty well although I am still learning and trying to get even better because as far as I am concerned that process never ends.
Here is a strange little signal and a neat little iron target I dug up using mostly instinct and the knowledge I have acquired swinging the F2 for so many hours.
I usually would have bypassed this signal but there were a few little clues that triggered my instinct to dig this target even though I was hunting with iron notched out at the time.
This is what we all mean when we talk about learning the language of your chosen detector...something I strive to do on every hunt with anything I am swinging at the time.
Sometimes you can read between the lines and still find good targets despite what the tones and the screen info is telling you.
----------------------------------------- ----------------------------------------- -----------------------------------

This one is for the little more advanced users and a good example on using all the clues and your instincts no matter what the screens and tones are saying.

Why I bent down to dig this thing is hard to explain because it was more about a "feeling" than anything else but I will try.

This signal was a false one when I ran over it, I got one false tone that was pretty solid and a 79 on the screen at first pass which fooled me but more passes over it the signal went away so I knew it was false.
I turned and hit this thing from another angle and nothing was there so I knew there was no real high tone target here but I turned back and tried to find it again.
I usually would forget this and move on but that first tone did seem to have something a little more solid in it then I usually hear on the many others I usually come across hunting on max sense in my sites with lots of iron.