kansa54

Aug 12, 2013
Kansas
Detector(s) used
Garrett 1500 Tesoro Vaquero Tesoro Silver Sabre micro max
Makro Racer 2 Makro Multi Kruzer
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I'm no bead expert but I wouldn't think they are worth much. I find a lot of them and I think they are fairly common. Hopefully someone can give you more info on them. They are pretty beads though and congrats on finding one.

Hot diggity

Nov 19, 2014
it's worth whatever someone will pay. I only have 1, so there ain't much chance gettin' my only one. If I had doubles & u were my friend...it's cheap :)

dogteam

Jul 31, 2012
Edmonton, AB
Detector(s) used
Eurotek Pro, 8" coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It depends very much on the bead. The oldest ones are a deep transparent cobalt blue, no layers, quite large (1/2-3/4 of an inch) and a small centre hole and thick walls. I've only found them on the west coast, however. Prices have risen from when I was collecting ($1/ea) to up to $20 or more. Like I say, depends on the bead and the buyer. Market has been flooded with african beads, the lighter blue opaque ones, and the ones with a light "core". I'd buy as many of the good ones as I could get my hands on, but there just don't seem to be any around. I've been bugging west coast dealers for years, and all they have to offer are fakes and africans.
kansas54, you say you find a lot of them, sure would like to see a pic...!

flintlock

Aug 6, 2007
Some are selling full strands anywhere from $75-$350 but these were all traded to Africa. The originals are usually Venetian and originals will have seven sides with cuts on the ends creating a crisp diamond effect on the sides. Original beads are always snapped from a cane. This snapping creates a smooth or clean glass break on the end of the bead. Copies are molded and they tend to have a duller edge and the ends are more rounded. I have found a few originals over the years and they are very beautiful trade beads!
IMG_0962.JPG

BIENER

Apr 27, 2016