Gold Member
Nov 24, 2006
NE Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex, Land Ranger Pro, Quick Draw Pro, Deteknix XPointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Info please

OK. I know that the 250 is a lot cheaper than the 1350. And I know the 1350 has more features, like profiling, than the 250. But I am really trying to figure out if the 1350 is worth the difference in dry land detection. The 1350 has the salt elimination feature which I guess I would use if I go to the beach (which may be once a year).

Is profiling that advantagious?

Is the difference between 24 and 12 notch that advantagious?

So I guess my real question is, am I going to miss treasures by getting the 250 over the 1350, or is it just going to identify better and save digging time by getting the 1350? I am just getting into TH'ing and want to make sure I am doing it right and all I have to go on is what I read. It seems that Garrett is the best entry level detectors, now I'm down to which one that I won't outgrow in a season or two.

Thanks in advance. Your site is awesome.

Dan in NE TN.

OP
OP
Phantasman

Phantasman

Gold Member
Nov 24, 2006
NE Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
LOL...............32 views and no response. Guess I said something wrong.

(Dan goes back to banging rocks together) :)

Dick from IA

Nov 21, 2005
Fort Dodge Iowa & Aransas Pass Texas
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
OK, Phantasman, I'll talk to ya ;D

I've owned an Ace 250 since February and am getting to love it more every time I use it. I just returned from a 6 week RV trip to the southeast and used it on some highly mineralized Georgia soil and on Florida beaches. It performed beautifully, with little or no problems with falsing from mineralization or ocean beach sand. I also own a Minelab XTerra 70, with manual ground balance and a beach mode. Side by side I couldn't tell any difference in performance. I used the Ace most of the time.