Is my Auto ground balance working improperly?

borntohunt460

Jul 30, 2013
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been using the At pro for about 6 months now and have never had any issues ground-balancing. I just moved to NC and have been going to a bunch of new spots. At one of the spots I walked along a creek and you can tell that it floods there often. As others have said I thought it would be a good idea to re- ground balance since I moved to this new area from the yard. Iniitally the numbers didnt change as I held in the ground balance and pumped towards the ground. I held the power down until it reset and tried again with the same results. I pushed the GB button and released it and then manually clicked the numbers down to around 20. I would expect that now the numbers should move towards stable if I pumped and held in the button. They did not. I went to the high side of 99 and it again did not move the numbers at all as I pumped and held the button.

Oddly enough I hit the yard after that and it seemed to GB as normal. I then went to a park and it did the same thing over an area of grass that has all sand underneath (used to be a volleyball pit)

Please help!!!

John-Edmonton

Silver Member
Mar 21, 2005
Canada
Detector(s) used
Garrett- Master Hunter CX,Infinium, 1350, 2500, ACE 150-water converted 250, GTA 500,1500 Scorpion, AT Pro
If you ground balanced the machine on flood plain, you most likely ground balanced it on very organic or very light and low mineralized deposits, so it was probably like ground balancing in air. I have noticed that on flood plains with recent deposits also.

OP
OP
borntohunt460

borntohunt460

Jul 30, 2013
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting