new to treasure hunting

piratekitty

Aug 19, 2010
Hello everyone!

So I work at a bank and have been collecting coins (mostly silver) for the past 6 months now. The bank is a great place to be exposed to a lot of currency, but I'm ready to get out on the field and start doing metal detecting. My only problem is I'm not really sure where to start! I've got some good ideas in my area about where to go (they're rather historical), but I'm wondering if you're able to find stuff anywhere, in any field? Also, I need to get myself a metal detector, so I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions of some good ones. Since I'm just starting out, I don't want to spend tons of money on a detector, but I do want it to be a pretty good one, so I know I'll have to find a balance there. Any advice you guys can give me will be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

piratekitty

fossis

Gold Member
Jan 5, 2007
eastern Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Whites Prizm 11 & White's XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Treasure-Net, a lot of folks like the Ace 250, it's a mid-priced machine, a couple of my friends use one & they like it fine.
Just do some research, (maybe the library), & ask some of the older folks for info on your area, you should come up with some places to detect, Look for old foundations, wells, cellar holes.

Good Luck, Fossis..........

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 (2), Ace 300, Gold Bug 2, Tesoro Cortes, Garrett Sea Hunter, Whites TDI SL SE, Fisher Impulse 8, Minelab Monster 1000, Minelab CTX3030, Falcon MD20, Garrett Pro-pointer, Calvin Bunker digger.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting