New and clueless

Spirtgold

Greenie
Jun 18, 2011
Hi everyone, I'm very new to this treasure hunting stuff, but it looks like I'm at the right place to learn! I've got a chance to buy a used Discovery 3000 for $40.00 and I think I'm going to go for it as my budget won't allow for a new detector right now. Does anyone here use this Discovery detector? I'm mostly going to search beaches, but will be open to other venues also. Thanks for all the great information here!

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Spirtgold said:
Hi everyone, I'm very new to this treasure hunting stuff, but it looks like I'm at the right place to learn! I've got a chance to buy a used Discovery 3000 for $40.00 and I think I'm going to go for it as my budget won't allow for a new detector right now. Does anyone here use this Discovery detector? I'm mostly going to search beaches, but will be open to other venues also. Thanks for all the great information here!

Hello and Welcome! You are in trouble now SG! Once bitten, there is no known cure! You'll need a good SAND SCOOP for the beach, so make sure you budget for that. Once you are into it you will want to upgrade your machine. You can get a dry sand machine for under $200 (Garrett and Tesoro come to mind) that will give you a lot better chance at success on the beach or in the dirt. Did I say dirt? Now you will need a digger tool to! :laughing7: Get that machine and start swinging, you WILL be smiling! :thumbsup:

OP
OP
S

Spirtgold

Greenie
Jun 18, 2011
Thanks Terrry,