CladMagnet

Oct 21, 2011
Ohio
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hunting a 1800's bar site

I'm hunting a 1800's bar site and pulled 2 1864 oh penny's and a 1845 large cent. I'm kinda new to md and am using a ace 250. When I pulled the large cent there was a hinge a piece of alum and the large cent. The problem is the place is filled with iron targets mostly square nails and hardware,my question is will all the iron mask the coins? And should I dig all targets?

OP
OP
CladMagnet

CladMagnet

Oct 21, 2011
Ohio
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Re: Hunting a 1800's bar site

CladMagnet said:
I'm hunting a 1800's bar site and pulled 2 1864 oh penny's and a 1845 large cent. I'm kinda new to md and am using a ace 250. When I pulled the large cent there was a hinge a piece of alum and the large cent. The problem is the place is filled with iron targets mostly square nails and hardware,my question is will all the iron mask the coins? And should I dig all targets?
Also found 2 bar tokens

OP
OP
CladMagnet

CladMagnet

Oct 21, 2011
Ohio
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting

CladMagnet said:
indian head pennys

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2

clad-magnet, congratz on the old coins. We CA guys envy you east coast guys .......... where large cents just ooze up from the ground everywhere it seems :hello:

To answer your question: yes iron will mask conductive targets. When you knock out iron (nails, etc..) with your disc, then your machine might mask a conductive target beneath a nail(s), scrap iron, etc.... Will depend on the size of the iron verses the size of the conductive target beneath. Sometimes if the nail is not too big, or not exactly "on top" of the conductive target (so you still get a "peak"), then you can eak out targets from in and around iron.